Welcome

Since 1996 we have been buying and selling fine used books, from vintage collectibles to signed first editions. Search and browse our inventory online and follow "The Mouse" for updates.

Our Books

Click to Search
our inventory by Author, Title, Publisher, and Keyword at AbeBooks.com.

Click to Browse
our inventory at AbeBooks.com.

Contact

Phone: 631.725.8654

Mailing: PO Box 943,
Sag Harbor, NY 11963

blackcatbooks@yahoo.com

Archive for February, 2009

Antonio Saura (1930–1998) began painting and writing in 1947 in Madrid while suffering from tuberculosis, having already been confined to his bed for five years. He developed a highly personal style, creating numerous drawings and paintings with a dreamlike surrealist character that most often represent imaginary landscapes, employing a flat smooth treatment that offers a rich palette of colours.
In Paris he Started using the technique of scraping, adopted a gestural style and a radically abstract type of painting, still very colourful and boasting an organic, aleatory design. He began painting by occupying the space of the canvas in several very distinct ways, creating formal structures that now very much bear his distinctive stamp and which he continued to develop endlessly. Then we see the use of forms that will soon become archetypes of the female body or the human figure. These two fundamental themes are to take up the greater part of his work. Starting in 1956 Saura tackles the register of what will prove to be his great series, Ladies, Nudes, Self-portraits, Shrouds and Crucifixions, which he paints on both canvas and paper. In Madrid founds the El Pasogroup in 1957 and serves as its director until it breaks up in 1960. Meets Michel Tapié. First solo exhibition at the Rodolphe Stadler Gallery in Paris, where he will regularly show throughout his life. Stadler will later introduce him to Otto van de Loo in Munich and Pierre Matisse in New York, both of whom will exhibit his work and represent the artist.

Now limiting his palette to blacks, greys and browns. Asserts a personal style that is independent of the movements and trends of his generation. His work follows in the tradition of Velasquez and Goya. It soon enters the major museums. Starting in 1959 begins creating what will prove to be a prolific body of works in print, illustrating in an original way numerous books like Cervantes’s Don Quijote, Orwell’s 1984, Nöstlinger’s adaptation of Pinocchio, Kafka’s Tagebücher, Quevedo’s Three visions, and many others. In 1960 begins practicing sculpture, creating works made of welded metal elements which represent the human figure, characters and crucifixions.

In 1967 settles permanently in Paris, joins the opposition to the Franco dictatorship and takes part in numerous debates and controversies in the fields of politics, aesthetics and artistic creation. Broadens his thematic and pictorial register. Along with his Femmefauteuil (literally Womanarmchair), the series Imaginary Portraits, Goya’s Dog and Imaginary Portraits of Goya begin to take shape.In 1971 abandons painting on canvas (which he will take up again in 1979) to devote himself to writing, drawing and painting on paper. In 1977 begins publishing his writings, creates several stage designs for the theatre, ballet and opera. From 1983 to his premature death, revisits and brilliantly develops all of his themes and figures, and produces perhaps the best work in his entire oeuvre.

Description: Hard bound with glassine dust jacket in publishers cardboard slipcase, as issued. Signed by the publisher Patrick Cramer. A very nice copy, bright and clean. This catalogue raisonné comprises the description and reproduction of 632 engravings, lithographs and silk-screen prints by the artist. When a piece by Saura is an integral part of a book, album or catalogue, the work is also described. A chronological presentation of the prints is followed by a chronological index, an alphabetical index and an index of the authors of the books illustrated by Saura. The catalogue concludes with a postface that addresses the links Antonio Saura maintained with the world of publishing and book illustration. Save for the specifications of the prints, which are written in French, all texts are given in French and Spanish.

Inventory # 14214

SOLD

Antonio Saura : L’oeuvre Imprime La Obra Grafica
Cramer, Patrick

Publisher: Patrick Cramer
Publication Date: 2000
Binding: Hard Cover
Book Condition: Near Fine
Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine
Signed: Signed by Publisher

FEATURED: EDEN

Eden… To the East of the interstate highway that bisects it are the railroad tracks… To the West a roadhouse (closed)… Extending beyond along the freeway are billboards advertising whiskey, real estate and ice. Except for casual greetings from the waitresses in the cafe, Eden is a place without human gentleness. the air is weighted by the sound of traffic. – Robert Adams, 1968

eden

p1050538Description: Hard bound limited edition INSCRIBED BY ROBERT ADAMS “Eden at ’50’ Love A”. One of 1000 printed copies. Original quarter black cloth, black paper over boards, title stamped on the front board in red, pink, white and green.  Robert Adam’s earliest body of work from 1968. Tritone images expertly printed from the original negatives. A series of seventeen black and white photographs made in and around an off-ramp truck stop cafe in Colorado. Adams was among the first to capture the new themes brought about by America’s changing economical, environmental, and visual terrain. He was concerned with the moment of regional transition, in this case the suburbanization of Denver. Some minor rubbing to boards, otherwise fine. A rare and sought after title!.

Bookseller Inventory # 18736

9781564660688 SOLD

Eden
Adams, Robert

Publisher: Roth Horowitz, New York
Publication Date: 1999
Binding: Hard Bound
Book Condition: Very Good
Dust Jacket Condition: No Dust Jacket
Signed: inscribed by Photographer
Edition: First Edition

Quoted: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“The love of learning, the sequestered nooks, and all the sweet serenity of books.”
—Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

china16

journeychinabjourneychinadjourneychinac

Description: The story of China’s history and civilization through a collection of excellent photographs and textual descriptions of thousands of precious relics and remains drawn largely from the collection of the National Museum of Chinese History, Beijing. Arranged chronologically in four volumes, the book vividly portrays the rise of the Chinese civilization, following its trails from remote antiquity in the Palaeolithic Age through the end of the Qing dynasty. Along the way it explores the achievements in science, economy, social life, literature and arts of the Chinese people. Rare artifacts, portraits, books, and historical documents never before published were exclusively photographed for these four volumes. Together with other experts, archaeologist and curator of the National Museum of Chinese History, Yu Weichao, provides authoritative texts for each section and entry. This publication is perfect for the scholars and teachers who search for excellent teaching materials; for the librarians who wish to provide the general reader reliable sources of Chinese civilization; and for the art connoisseurs who look for unique artifacts of inspiration. Volume 1: Palaeolithic Age – Spring and Autumn Period Volume 2: Warring States – Northern & Southern Dynasties Volume 3: Sui Dynasty – Northern & Southern Song Dynasties Volume 4: Yuan Dynasty – Qing. Complete in four volumes, all first printings. Vol.#1 Paleolithic Age – Spring and Autumn Period; 271pp. Vol#2 Warring States Period – Northern and Southern Dynasties; 303pp. Volume#3 Sui Dynasty – Northern and Southern Song Dynasties; 323pp. Volume#4 Yuan Dynasty – Qing Dynasty 302 pp. Published in association with the National Museum of Chinese History, Beijing. 4 very nice hard bound copies in like dust jackets. Interiors clean and bindings tight.

Bookseller Inventory #18735

journeychina

$200

A Journey Into China’s Antiquity (4 Vol.)
Weichao, Yu

Publisher: Morning Glory Publishers
Publication Date: 1997
Binding: Hard Bound
Book Condition: Very Good
Dust Jacket Condition:Very Good

©2008 Black Cat Books. Site designed by AndreMora.com.